Jasper’s Purchase Of The Week – Case Lang Veirs // I, Gemini / Laura Mvula / Odonis Odonis / Golden Vessel

Getting a bit of a habit this, for the third week running it’s time for a Jasper-less Jasper’s Purchase Of The Week! Yep the little blighter’s away again. This time he’s off keeping his head down, avoiding hooligans over in France for a spot of Euro 2016 action. Soooooo, as with the last couple of weeks, in the J-dog’s absence, we’re gonna give you brief round up of what’s out and about by way of albums, and leave it with you as to whether any of them take a little of your fancy. Starting with…

Case / Lang / Veirs – Case / Lang / Veirs


Debut self titled album from the newly formed all female supergroup trio of Neko Case, K.D. Lang & Laura Veirs. Supergroups rarely end up working too well generally, but this is without a doubt the exception to that pretty wooly rule. It’s an album of stunningly beautiful folk pop that utilises each band member’s talent perfectly giving an equal share of the spotlight. Put simply, you need it in your library.

Laura Mvula – The Dreaming Room

Extremely impressive follow up to her very impressive debut, Sing To The Moon, that would be the pick of the bunch on 90% of other weeks. It’s experimental, exciting, epic, soulful pop, which plays with RnB, funk, and electronica with collaborations from the likes of Nile Rogers (below), Wretch 32 & the London Symphony Orchestra.

Odonis Odonis – Post Plague

Not masses of stuff out this week but what there is, is of a mega high standard and the new effort from Odonis Odonis definitely keeps up to them. Powerful, pulsing industrial electronica, that’s sounds like it could well be the soundtrack to your next Sci-Fi nightmare. Awesome.

Golden Vessel – Before Sleep E.P.

Lastly, it’s the debut E.P. from Golden Vessel, an artist who Jasper’s been banging on about for a fair while, and one who with this release, shows us exactly why. Employing the talents of guest vocalists including Woodes, Okbadlands, MTNS, Lastlings and Abraham Tilbury, it’s a six track into into the Aussie producer’s gorgeous atmospheric electronica. Roll on his first album.